ebenim

A Conversation with Micah Bournes

In Testimonies on January 19, 2009 at 9:00 pm

Click here for today’s feature:

Tuesday marks a significant day in American history as Barak Obama becomes our 44th President and the first African American to do so. This feature is a conversation with an African American student who describes the tension many in his community feel between concern over Obama’s policies and excitement that the dreams of Martin Luther King, Jr., are beginning to be realized. The feature includes a few excerpts from a project Micah did for my production class on this topic.

Click here if you’d like to listen to Micah’s complete final project.

  1. I really enjoyed this interview with Micah. I appreciated his honesty & integrity, esp. at his age. I am 42yr old black woman who is deeply committed to Christ, many in my church voted for Obama; I didn’t; I couldn’t because of his policies. I haven’t talked to many African American Christians who felt the way I did. However I did speak to a dear White friend of mine who grew up in Chicago; she & I cried together because we couldn’t vote for the 1st Black president of America because of his beliefs on homosexuality and abortion.

    Now, on the eve of Obama’s inauguration, I have strange feelings inside because I am an
    African American. It is amazing to me that Barak Obama is fulfilling the dream that Martin Luther King Jr. declared so many years ago. I want to cry because of the joy of this historically precious moment and yet I am still greatly disturbed that the man staunchly disagrees with the Bible on such important issues and so many Americans do not believe morals are important when voting for a government official. The only thing I know to do with these mixed emotions is pray & trust the Lord that President Obama will not only rule
    the country well but that he would submit to God’s authority in everyway. May God keep President Obama and his family safe in Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

