ebenim

George Beverly Shea Turns 100

In Church, Culture, Current Events, History on January 30, 2009 at 10:45 pm

 846032_356x237
George Beverly Shea

Click here for today’s feature:

This Sunday, February 1st, is the 100th Birthday of singer and songwriter George Beverly Shea. For more than 50 years, he served the Lord faithfully alongside Billy Graham, singing all over the world. This feature takes a look at his life and ministry through a few program excerpts from the Moody Radio archives.

My thanks to Moody Radio Producer Joe Carlson for locating the archival material and to Becky Perry for alerting me to this story.

  1. You can wish Mr. Shea a happy 100th at http://www.GeorgeBevShea.com. The site also has an excerpt from his upcoming biography, George Beverly Shea: Tell Me the Story.

  2. Paul,

    Thank you for this post. Happy Birthday, Bev.

    Be well,
    Bob

  3. We can only thank the Lord for your long life, just shows what God will do for the faithful. I was only a young girl still at school when you came to Australia with Billy Graham. My mother and myself were in the choir in Brisbane. I have been an admirer of yours ever since, playing frequently your songs on my Gospel radio programs.God bless you as you continue to serve Him. Happy Birthday Christian friend.

  4. Dear Bev;
    Cheers from Canada on your milestone! For what you have given this world you should be rewarded with another 100! Best regards & may you have good health & happiness for some time to come Jim

  5. Happy Birthday. Thank you for sharing with so many people your blessed tenor voice You have brought to many a great blessing. I did enjoy hearing you at Sydney in 1959 God Bless You and your family

  6. CONGRATULATIONS on your 101st birthday.
    May God Continue to bless you as you have done for us for so many years. I am 50 and you have been a part of my entire life. May God bless you with health and happiness.
    JB

  7. Met him at Mission England in Liverpool in 1984. He signed a copy of Then Sings My Soul for me and added a Bible reference – Psalm 104:3 “I will sing to the Lord all my lie. I will sing his praise as long as I have breath”. What a man – true to his word – and now aged 101.
    Doug.

Leave a Reply

