ebenim

Kids and Math

In Culture, Current Events on October 14, 2009 at 8:49 pm


photo courtesy of the Library of Congress

Click here for today’s feature:

Despite years of federally funded education initiatives, a recent study by the NAEP reports that our children are still performing poorly in basic mathematics.

Steve Demme is the Founder, President and Author of Math U See.  He helps us understand why our kids are struggling and what we can do about it.

In this feature, Mr. Demme mentions the first step in helping our children improve in math is to ascertain what they already know.  The Math U See website has a number of competency exams available.  Information is available here.

  1. interesting

  2. Go Steve Demme!

    Math-U-See is AWESOME! Love it!

  3. I read somewhere recently where the Math-U-See Company that Mr. Demme was talking about has scored an average of 100% improvement in test scores for years with something like 1500 kids in Special Education Classes in Albuquerque, NM. That is impressive because from teaching some myself, I know that some of them make no progress and these are test score averages. WOW ! Way to go Mr. Demme.

  4. cool

  5. Hi! Been using math u see for 8 years now teaching my 11 and 9 year old here in the Philippines! I wouldnt have it any other way. I tried so many other workbooks for math but nothing even comes close. I am learning so much, along with my children. I can say that I honestly understand grade school math. We are working on Pre-algebra now. Its getting to be a struggle mid-way, but we are struggling well. Thanks to Steve Demme and Math-u-see… I praise God for you.

  6. Great summary of MathUSee. We’ve been using the program since kindergarten while home schooling in Switzerland. My daughter was able to “merge” into the Gymnasium (college prep high school) with not much trouble and with a good understanding of why she was doing what she was doing. As a college math major myself, I was astounded to see how easily Steve Demme explained fractions. I finally understood many things that I had only memorized before. Steve consistently explains concepts clearly on the videos that I could never bring down to my kids’ level. Thanks, Steve, for the great math program!

  7. Great interview! Our family loves Mr. Steve and Math-U-See!

Leave a Reply

